Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Resetting JL's computer control

  1. #1

    Resetting JL's computer control

    Couple of newbie questions:

    1. I've heard there are 2 batteries on the JL. Sound right? Location?

    2. Any idea how to reset the electronics in case the JL computer refuses to start the engine (and I'm in a remote location)? I've heard of 3 instances of this. Would one disconnect the battery and reconnect again ... but there are 2 batteries? I've heard to use an app called Torque which can reset the electronics.

    Thx.

  2. #2
    Meme King JTCO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Mom's Basement
    Posts
    4,440
    As far as dual batteries, I'm pretty sure that is only on the 2.0l turbo engine. The 2nd battery is under the Jeep in front of the rear axle.

    20171213115801-395a7e20.jpg

    And the main battery is under the hood here:

    IMG_20180213_163952_139.jpg



    As far as the 3.6l , the battery is right here under the hood.

    IMG_20180213_162846_100.jpg
    Last edited by JTCO; 02-13-2018 at 03:41 PM.

  3. #3
    Nice pics! Thx.

  4. #4
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,328
    The 3.6 has a secondary battery too. It is behind the front passenger wheel liner.


    Sent from my iPad using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app

  5. #5
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,328

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Knows a Thing or Two JAGS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    654
    Quote Originally Posted by 13_gecko_rubi View Post
    Is this battery used for the aux switches? I'd guess yes but it could also have additional purpose.

  8. #8
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,328
    Quote Originally Posted by JAGS View Post
    Is this battery used for the aux switches? I'd guess yes but it could also have additional purpose.
    No. It's due to start stop system. All 3.6s have it. Vehicles with aux switches get a bigger primary battery and bigger alt.

    Sent via....

  9. #9
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,328
    Quote Originally Posted by wayoflife View Post
    LOL!! Thank you for saving me the trouble of taking my fender liner out
    Lol... Ya that would be a pain.

    Sent via....

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by 13_gecko_rubi View Post
    2 batteries do exist on 3.6L JLs. Nice pic.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •