Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rubicon locker switch for a nonrubicon

  1. #1
    Caught the Bug Monarch490's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Corona California
    Posts
    50

    Rubicon locker switch for a nonrubicon

    You all think Mopar is going to offer a locker switch like the one on the rubi for a sport or Sahara. You can add the auxiliary switches why not do the same for a locker switch?


    Sent from my iPad using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app

  2. #2
    Been Around the Block Rgk401's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    323
    Quote Originally Posted by Monarch490 View Post
    You all think Mopar is going to offer a locker switch like the one on the rubi for a sport or Sahara. You can add the auxiliary switches why not do the same for a locker switch?


    Sent from my iPad using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app
    I think if you do that with the factory switches on a non rubicon you will get a dash full of light. Itís best to get a aftermarket switch pod set. I went through the same situation on my Jk.


    Sent from my iPhone using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app

  3. #3
    Caught the Bug Monarch490's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Corona California
    Posts
    50

    Rubicon locker switch for a nonrubicon

    You maybe right but it seems like they made this Jeep to be more customizable. Iím going to buy the auxiliary switches from Mopar and they just have to reflash the computer or I can buy a jltazer to make it work


    Sent from my iPad using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app
    Last edited by Monarch490; 03-22-2019 at 08:17 PM.

  4. #4
    Been Around the Block Rgk401's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    323
    Quote Originally Posted by Monarch490 View Post
    You maybe right but it seems like they made this Jeep to be more customizable. Iím going to buy the auxiliary switches from Mopar and they just have to reflash the computer or I can buy a jltazer to make it work


    Sent from my iPad using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app
    Yes the mopar switches will work. I think if Iím not mistaking that you will have to take the Jeep back to the dealership to make them work. As far as using them to operate the lockers,that will work. I donít think you will have a lock icon on the dash but your lockers should work. On the jlx Mel hooked his front and rear lockers up to the factory mopar auxiliary switch and it worked fine.. according to the video.


    Sent from my iPhone using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app

  5. #5
    Administrator wayoflife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Carson City, NV
    Posts
    7,186
    Quote Originally Posted by Rgk401 View Post
    Yes the mopar switches will work. I think if Iím not mistaking that you will have to take the Jeep back to the dealership to make them work. As far as using them to operate the lockers,that will work. I donít think you will have a lock icon on the dash but your lockers should work. On the jlx Mel hooked his front and rear lockers up to the factory mopar auxiliary switch and it worked fine.. according to the video.


    Sent from my iPhone using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app
    Yup, this is pretty accurate. You can make them work and we did on the JLX

  6. #6
    Caught the Bug Monarch490's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Corona California
    Posts
    50
    Quote Originally Posted by wayoflife View Post
    Yup, this is pretty accurate. You can make them work and we did on the JLX
    You have a link to the video?


    Sent from my iPad using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app

  7. #7
    Been Around the Block Rgk401's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    New Orleans
    Posts
    323
    Quote Originally Posted by Monarch490 View Post
    You have a link to the video?


    Sent from my iPad using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app
    https://youtu.be/bwQdDA6RWzE

    Fast forward to 27:36 and watch from that point till the end. You will see a FEW interesting things.


    Sent from my iPhone using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app

  8. #8
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,303
    You won't be able to run the factory locker switch in a non Rubicon. The DTCM in a Rubicon is different. Just get aux switches or some other switch system. Mopar makes the harnesses to wire the locker to any switch, it only has the + & - signals, not the feedback signal. They are about $60 each. It's worth it to buy as you'll have a hell of a time finding the connector otherwise. I got them for my Sport with Rubicon axles in it.

    Sent via....

  9. #9
    Fresh Catch
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    1
    I found a connecter on the back of the center console cubby in my JLU sport which matches the connector on my friends' JLUR. Seems like the harness is generic for all JLs but im not sure about needing to pin/re-pin connections somewhere along the harness.

    Anyone noticed a plug on the back of the center console not connected to anything or is it just me ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •