Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 56

Thread: JL Wrangler AUXILIARY SWITCHES

  1. #21
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,303
    Quote Originally Posted by Jasper View Post
    any write ups on how connect say a light bar? Do you connect to all wires under hood and in footwell?
    Under hood or interior. Not both. Light bar would be under hood.

    Sent via....

  2. #22
    Caught the Bug
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    56
    Do you all know how much current each wire can handle? I was wondering if the hot inside can handle the 13 amps required by most ham radios.


    Sent from my iPhone using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app

  3. #23
    Caught the Bug
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by 13_gecko_rubi View Post
    You don't need to waste a switch on cb. There is an ignition hot 12v circuit inside as part of switch package. Wire cb to that. If u don't want it on just turn cb switch off.

    Sent via....
    I like this guy. Thanks for all the insight, brother!

  4. #24
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,303
    Quote Originally Posted by TheChucklesStart View Post
    Do you all know how much current each wire can handle? I was wondering if the hot inside can handle the 13 amps required by most ham radios.


    Sent from my iPhone using JL Wrangler Jeep Forum mobile app
    Both the constant 12V and ignition 12V tied to the aux switch group are rated at 10A. For HAM you'd need to use one of the aux switches. They are rated at 40A for switch 1 and 2 and 15A for switch 3 and 4.

    Sent via....

  5. #25
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,303
    Quote Originally Posted by Tellico View Post
    I like this guy. Thanks for all the insight, brother!
    Any time!

    Sent via....

  6. #26
    Meme King JTCO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Mom's Basement
    Posts
    4,216
    Quote Originally Posted by 13_gecko_rubi View Post
    You don't need to waste a switch on cb. There is an ignition hot 12v circuit inside as part of switch package. Wire cb to that. If u don't want it on just turn cb switch off.

    Sent via....
    Quote Originally Posted by 13_gecko_rubi View Post
    Both the constant 12V and ignition 12V tied to the aux switch group are rated at 10A. For HAM you'd need to use one of the aux switches. They are rated at 40A for switch 1 and 2 and 15A for switch 3 and 4.

    Sent via....
    This guy knows his shit.

  7. #27
    Caught the Bug JL2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    59
    Quote Originally Posted by 13_gecko_rubi View Post
    You don't need to waste a switch on cb. There is an ignition hot 12v circuit inside as part of switch package. Wire cb to that. If u don't want it on just turn cb switch off.

    Sent via....
    Thanks, but I thought if you used any of the wiring that comes with the switch you are limited to only 4 connections one per switch. Am I wrong? if so that gives me one extra for rock lights.

  8. #28
    Caught the Bug JL2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    59
    Quote Originally Posted by JL2018 View Post
    Thanks, but I thought if you used any of the wiring that comes with the switch you are limited to only 4 connections one per switch. Am I wrong? if so that gives me one extra for rock lights.
    This waiting sucks. It would be so easy if i could just step outside and look under the hood.

  9. #29
    Nothing but a Thing
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,303
    Quote Originally Posted by JL2018 View Post
    Thanks, but I thought if you used any of the wiring that comes with the switch you are limited to only 4 connections one per switch. Am I wrong? if so that gives me one extra for rock lights.
    As part of package there are 4 wires under hood (one for each switch) and 6 wires in interior (one for each switch PLUS a constant 12V hot and an ignition 12V hot).

    The extra two were put in interior specifically for things like CBs that you want an easy way to power but don't want to use one of the 4 switches for since the device has its own power switch.

    Sent via....

  10. #30
    Caught the Bug JL2018's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    59

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by 13_gecko_rubi View Post
    As part of package there are 4 wires under hood (one for each switch) and 6 wires in interior (one for each switch PLUS a constant 12V hot and an ignition 12V hot).

    The extra two were put in interior specifically for things like CBs that you want an easy way to power but don't want to use one of the 4 switches for since the device has its own power switch.

    Sent via....
    Wow, Thanks for the info. That eliminates all my lighting concerns....for now. One less thing to think about https://jlwrangler.com/images/icons/icon6.png

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •