Air hoses

BillArnett

My ARB CKMTA12 arrived yesterday. Reading thru the instructions I noticed that they say the air coming out will get pretty hot and that that may be in issue for the hose if it's used to fill more than "a few" tires. One fix is to use a tank (or some other kind of inter-cooler like the ARB 171503 Air Compressor Manifold) but I'd like to avoid that if possible. I'll be filling up 37x13.5 tires. Does anyone have any experience with this? I've been running an inexpensive coiled hose between my JK's Powerplant and my inflator. ARB's website says, "this air compressor requires a unique, high-heat tolerant hose" like their ARB 171302. Is that for real or just marketing-speak? Also, is there a significant difference in air hoses with respect to flow rate from a compressor like the ARB CKMTA12?

I suppose I could just buy one of those ARB hoses and make some measurements ;-(

JTCO

Meme King
I'm not an engineer nor do I plan on testing anything specifically, but I run the ARB orange hose that a lot of people do with the ARB twin compressor. I have filled up 8 tires in a row twice before (compressor pretty much ran constantly for 15 minutes) and the hose was no hotter than it usually is when I use it. I was still able to disconnect it from the compressor without hurting my fingers. Yes, it is hot, but it's not that bad. Granted, I keep the compressor in the Jeep, not under the hood. But I still feel the heat when I'm done using it, but it's not something I worry about.

RMC2

You could add a longer section of the braided steel line with the quick disconnect on the end. Then the orange hose. I have the tiny manifold, but haven’t used it enough yet.

WWRuby_Svi

See if you can find out the material on your hoses... not sure what rubber is rated for, polypropylene is a regular temp (I think around 150), and nylon is a high temp.